Wine Resources Week 2 – Somm Documentary

Who says you have to do a bunch of reading to learn about wine?

Yes, I know, reading is a great way to learn, people don’t do it enough these days and there is TONS of information out there for people to read. Don’t get me wrong, I’m a reader and I love it. Every now and then you need to mix it up!

Some days I just want to watch TV and drink a good glass of wine with a nice soft blanket and relax, undisturbed. On these days I pour myself some wine, put the bottle within reach, sit down on my couch, grab the remote and start scrolling Netflix. It was on one of these occasions that I came acrosse a documentary titled ‘Somm‘ with a fun little wine logo. Man was I thankful for Netflix’s reccomended videos that day! I’ve not watched Somm 3 times and have continued to learn each time.

Somm is a documentary which follows four sommeliers as they attempt to pass the prestigious Master Sommelier exam, a test with one of the lowest pass rates in the world. At first the description intrigued me because I have some interest in taking a few classes and have contemplated becoming a Sommelier myself, but this is definitely a documentary for any wine lover.

Check out the official trailer…

Part of the reason this is a great documentary is because it gives you all kinds of information, but it also shows you a new glimpse into the world of wine. You get a taste of how wine can become a lifestyle and passion for someone instead of just a hobby or a drink they enjoy after work to relax. I knew there was a lot more to the wine world but did not realize just how deep and wonderful it truly was until I saw this. The documentary is entertaining, interesting and real. Watch it.

Since it is on Netflix, you don’t have to go hunt it down to rent or buy it. If you don’t have Netflix, just find a friend who does! You can pick a bottle of wine, get some snacks and have a movie night with their Netflix account….maybe invite them to join you too. That would be the polite thing to do.

Word on the street (ok, on the Somm documentary Facebook) is that another movie is in the works! Can’t wait!

Enjoy! Come back and let us know what you though of Somm.

3 thoughts on “Wine Resources Week 2 – Somm Documentary

Leave a Reply

