The results you didn’t get.

“You can’t be upset about the results you didn’t get from the work you didn’t do.”

Nearly any gym in America offers classes, from yoga to zumba to spin. I’ve never been a class person myself but for many it is the only reason they go to the gym and pay for that monthly membership.

That being said, it comes as no surprise that I dread this bootcamp class I’ve now said I will go to every Wednesday for the next 8 weeks. Why did I agree? Well, the practical answer is that I signed up for the Gold’s Gym 12-week Transformation challenge and it was included. The bootcamp is only for those participating in the challenge and is one of the perks of paying that lovely $50 contest entry fee. The real answer…I know it’s good for me and I really need a kick in the pants these days.

I will dread it every week I’m sure. Even today after telling the training I’d be there my mind ran through a brief list of excuses to get out of it. Ugh…there goes the brain again. While I may dread it I also know that it could potentially be exactly what I need to re-motivate myself. If feeling completely out of shape and being embarrassed once a week is what it takes to get myself through this plateau and back on a consistent workout path, so be it.

So my point is…

Sometimes the journey to fitness isn’t easy. Sometimes it just plain sucks and you want to quit, go home turn on the TV and just think about working out. It’s the times when you really don’t want to get a workout in that you need to break through mentally and get yourself moving. For me it will be suffering through this class to prove I can do it and to remind myself that working out by myself is fabulous, and significantly less embarrassing. What is it going to take for you to break through? Motivation from a friend? A workout buddy? Being embarrassed and forced to see how out of shape you are? Eating that whole pizza and immediately regretting it?

I sure hope it’s not the last one. Whatever it takes, make it happen! Work for your results or they will never come.

Leave a Reply

